Wilfredo Baquero and Erick Broberg are the winners of the Ambassador’s Cup 2023



Wilfredo Baquero and Erick Broberg are the winners of the Ambassador’s Cup 2023

  •  The twenty-third edition of the emblematic golf tournament of the American Chamber of Commerce of the Dominican Republic was held at the “Diente de Perro” course, in Casa de Campo, La Romana.
  •  120 players disputed the joust in the scramble modality in pairs.

CASA DE CAMPO, LA ROMANA.- With their 68 strokes, Wilfredo Baquero and Erick Broberg were proclaimed winners of the 2023 Charles T. Manatt Memorial Ambassador's Cup golf tournament, of the American Chamber of Commerce of the Dominican Republic (AMCHAMDR for its acronym in English), played on Saturday, May 20, at the world-class course “Diente de Perro” in Casa de Campo, La Romana.

This edition of the Ambassador's Cup was held within the framework of the celebration of the 100th anniversary of the founding of the American Chamber of Commerce in the Dominican Republic. The competition was attended by the former United States ambassador to the country, Wally Brewster.

The tournament had the participation of 120 golfers who played under the scramble modality in pairs, where the best scores in categories A, B and C were awarded. The event began at 9:00 in the morning; after the notes of the national anthem, followed by the words of welcome by William Malamud, executive vice president of AMCHAMDR, who highlighted the importance of the Ambassador's Cup and what it means for the Chamber and the country in this centenary year.

After this, Juan Velásquez, vice president and administrator Costasur/Casa de Campo gave the opening remarks to the event, encouraging players to give their best and develop an integral competition. On his side, Janiris de Peña, director of JDP Caribbean Golf, explained the rules and details of the game. Then, Eduardo Cruz, member of the AMCHAMDR board of directors, made the honor stroke, which marked the official start of the tournament.

During the course of the Ambassador's Cup, the players played a game marked by an atmosphere of integration and healthy sports competition. At 3:00 in the afternoon the golfers had completed the 18 holes of the course, after which they were received at the Driving Range in Casa de Campo for lunch and an awards ceremony.

The winners

Jorge Yunén and Luis Alfonso Mera won first net place in category A for a final result of 63 hits. The second net place in the same category corresponded to Johnny Morales and Leo Pérez with 65 hits. Third net place was awarded to Mario Torres and Francisco Ferdinand, with 65 net hits.

In category B, the net first place winners were the golfers José Zapata and Luis Miniño with 63 shots. In net second place, with 64 strokes, were Jonathan Zapata and José Nicasio, followed by Luis José Acra and Juan Brenes with 68 hits in third place.

In category C, Fernando Houellemont and Eduardo García reached first place for a total of 67 net strokes. These were followed by Chris Portela and Ganesan Ponnambalam with 68 shots in second place (broken off by card), and Manuel Mesa and Jonathan Ruiz in third position in the category with 68 hits.

Among the special awards, winners were Eric Broberg in “Longest Drive” and José Zapata in “Closest to the pin”.

The awards ceremony took place at the Driving Range in Casa de Campo, where a lunch was also held, attended by players, board members and guests. Before the event ended, William Malamud, Executive Vice President of AMCHAMDR, offered a few words of thanks to the players and related parties present.

Sponsors and collaborators 

In the category of our exclusive Elite Circle, the Ambassador's Cup 2023 golf tournament was sponsored by: AES Dominicana, Barrick Pueblo Viejo, Cervecería Nacional Dominicana, Citi, HIT Puerto Río Haina, Grupo Humano, Inicia, Grupo Martí, Altice Dominicana, Grupo Rica, Grupo SID, Grupo Punta Cana, Grupo Estrella y Squire Patton Boggs.

The category of Platinum sponsors are: Casa de Campo, BHD, DP World, Karisma Hotels, CEPM, Santo Domingo Motors, Scotiabank y Banreservas.

Likewise, in the gold category we were supported by: Banesco, Bermudez, BM Cargo, Brugal, Grupo Viamar, IMCA, London Consulting, Seguros Reservas, Universal y V2A Consulting

Other companies that also collaborated with the realization of the tournament were: Bepensa, Chivas, Emilio's hot dogs, Café Santo Domingo, EZ Go, Forbes, Gingerly, Café Baqué, La Aurora y Tito's Vodka.

About the Charles T. Manatt Memorial Ambassador’s Cup

Charles Taylor Manatt served as United States Ambassador to the Dominican Republic, representing the government of President Bill Clinton between 1999 and 2001. Ambassador Manatt was the ideologue of the Ambassador's Cup golf tournament, which since 2000 has been held by the American Chamber of Commerce.

The diplomat conceived the idea that the tournament would become an opportunity for those who have been successful in business to contribute to the institution, work for the common good and have fun while doing it, or in his exact words: “an opportunity for those who have done well, to do good, and have fun doing it”.

About the American Chamber of Commerce of the Dominican Republic (AMCHAMDR)

The American Chamber of Commerce of the Dominican Republic (AMCHAMDR for its acronym in English) is a non-profit association, legally incorporated on November 8, 1923, which promotes a healthy investment climate based on access to knowledge, opportunities and a culture of best practices for the socioeconomic and professional development of its partners. AMCHAMDR is affiliated with the U.S. Chamber of Commerce and is a founding member of the Association of American Chambers of Commerce in Latin America (AACCLA).